Am I In My Element?

Still in the middle of doing research on Sir Ken Robinson‘s work, I ran across his new book “The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything” and I thought, “Am I in my element?”

When I was in high school, I decided that I wanted to be a psychologist. Of course, I am not a psychologist; I am a teacher in a daycare, which came about quite by accident.  I realize that being a teacher in a daycare is a long way from being a psychologist, but then I thought about why I wanted to be a psychologist. I have always been interested in how people think and learn, and how what they think and learn effects who they are. I probably would have learned a lot about that studying and practicing psychology, but I am definitely learning about it as a teacher of young children. I know that I enjoy my job very much – in fact, I spend a majority of my time away from my job researching aspects of my job. (I have been doing that all morning while researching Sir Ken Robinson!) Anyone else would say that I am crazy for enjoying my chosen profession so much (in fact my wonderful boyfriend makes that point quite frequently), but I think that it is safe to say that in this context, I probably am in my element.

Leave a Reply

