I Have Finally Found My Best Friend

I haven’t had many really good friends in my life, but that’s okay. I have never been too worried about quantity; its quality that has mattered to me. And I’d never found that one person with whom I have felt comfortable sharing everything. Sure, I’ve had friends – even really good friends. There was my friend from elementary school, who I emulated more than anything; she was a certifiable genius and I wanted to be just as smart as her. She moved away, and then came a period where I had a group of friends, but none of those in the group were really close friends. Then I moved away, and in high school I had one really close friend, and then she moved away. And then I had one really controlling friend, and luckily we parted ways before too long. After I got married I had one friend who also seemed controlling to me, but I learned a lot from her, so it was worth it. We were friends for a long time, and then I met my best friend…

I wish I could describe to you how amazing it is when you find someone that you feel completely comfortable around. Someone who you don’t mind sharing everything with. I know that there are a lot of you out there that know what I am talking about, but for me – someone who has dreamed about it but has never experienced it – it is amazing and a little miraculous. Especially for someone who’s theme songs are “Here I Go Again” by Whitesnake and “Boulevard of Broken Dreams” by Greenday. (They still are my theme songs, but I want my best friend to know that they are in no way a reflection on him! Now they are more of a statement of my individuality to me than a statement of being alone.) Because, you see, I had given up. I didn’t think that person was out there. And just when I had given up, he came along.

It is amazing to me, to find someone that I can talk to without feeling like every word I say is being judged. It is amazing to me that I found someone that I can state my opinions to without fear that I will make them mad. It is amazing to me that I have found someone that I can share my dreams with – no matter how wild and crazy they are – and not only will they not judge me, but they will do everything that they can to help me realize those dreams. It is amazing to me that I have found someone who believes that my ideas and my thoughts and my passions have worth. Because in every friendship that I have had in the past, these are the things that I could not share with the other person. But these are the things that my best friend loves about me.

So in celebration of our second anniversary together, and in celebration of Thanksgiving, I would like to say thank you to the one person who has accepted and loved me exactly as I am. And I want him to know that I love him very much, and just as he makes me feel loved and accepted, I hope that I do the same for him.

Leave a Reply

