The Christmas Collage

I had made several colorful collage materials available to the children for their Christmas collage, including Christmas cards from years past (I just cut the back flap off of them and let the kids cut them up as they saw fit). So after a week’s worth of glue, pom-poms, sequins, and cut-up Christmas cards, we had a finished class collage. I wish I had a picture of it. The sequins were a hit, so the collage is very sparkly.

Other than that, it was a very slow day in our classroom. I pretty much let the kids play so that I could observe and get new ideas for projects. I also tried to figure out what I am going to do with my now-empty “Little People” table. I put some colored rice on the table, with the intent for it to be used for “writing” in, but the kids had other ideas; in thirty minutes the majority of the rice was on the floor. I am now trying to figure out how to incorporate the table into my studio area.

Tomorrow: Gingerbread ornaments and painting with primary colors. It will be wonderful to go into the day with projects planned!

Leave a Reply

