Inspirational Quote

I ran into a quote in the book “Manage Your Day-to-Day: Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, & Sharpen Your Creative Mind”. This quote really spoke to me because of my baby, Project: Preschool. I have been working on Project: Preschool for about a year, but I haven’t gotten very far with it. Most of that can be contributed to stress in my personal life, but most of that stress is resolved now, so that shouldn’t be an issue any more. But I digress:

People sabotage themselves because the alternative is to put themselves into the world as someone who knows what they are doing. They are afraid that if they do that, they will be seen as a fraud. It’s incredibly difficult to stand up at a board meeting and say, “I know how to do this. Here is my work. It took me a year. It’s great.”
This is hard for two reasons: (1) it opens you to criticism and (2) it puts you into the world as someone who knows what you are doing, which means that tomorrow you also have to know what you are doing, and you have just signed up for a lifetime of knowing what you are doing.
– Seth Godin

This quote spoke to me because it is true. It is exactly what goes through my head when I write a workshop and try to figure out how to market it. And I am actually glad to know that I am not the only person who goes through this type of self-doubt. Now I hope that I can push myself beyond that.

One comment on “Inspirational Quote

  1. Pingback: Pretend You Know What You Are Doing | Uplifting Freedom

Leave a Reply

