Project-Based Learning

I haven’t really thought about the big picture of project-based learning too much. Since I teach children who are much younger than elementary age, I guess I have been more concerned about offering them interesting environments and observing to see how they use materials. However, I ran into an article today that makes me think a little harder about the foundation of project-based learning. The concepts discussed in the article can be used for any age, and I think it is time for me to give this way of teaching some serious consideration. Here is the link to the article:

How to Trigger Students’ Inquiry Through Projects

The actual article is an excerpt from a book entitled Thinking Through Project-Based Learning: Guiding Deeper Inquiry by Jane Krauss and Suzie Boss. The article does a very good job outlining the steps that teachers need to take in order to begin using project-based learning effectively in the classroom. It will definitely give me something to think about.

Leave a Reply

