Passion is Contagious – Sometimes

It’s your life. Live it with people who are alive. It tends to be contagious.

-Peter McWilliams

In my experience, passion can be contagious. I titled this post “sometimes” because I have also found that sometimes it isn’t. I’m not sure why it is only sometimes contagious. Maybe it has to do with the type of passion or the delivery of it. Or maybe it has to do with the fact that it isn’t being delivered by the passionate person – only enjoyed by them.

I am extremely passionate about what I do, so much so that I wish I could experience the same passion blossoming around me. Passion is like a garden blooming, and I long to disperse seeds of that passion around me so that it can blossom everywhere I look. But in order for passion to bloom, it needs willing soil to be planted in and a lot of tending by the passionate.

Children seem to be the most affected by the contagiousness of passion. Perhaps that is because they do not have preconceived notions about the subject matter that is being displayed. They see the passion and they take part with a passion and energy of their own that is characteristic of children.

Adults are more selective about what they are passionate about. Maybe that has a lot to do with why I do not see the same passion blossoming around me. Maybe it is because there are different species of passion and I am not surrounded by people who share my kind.

It is something that I often think about and wonder over, especially since I want to connect people with their passion. Does anyone have any insights?

Leave a Reply

