The Year In Review

If there is one thing that I hate, it is New Year’s Resolutions. To me, it is a bunch of hyped up junk about things that we want to do, but we never really say how we are going to do them; we just state that we want to do it. And so we set off with great intentions, only to fizzle out a couple of weeks, a month, two months into the year. So I stopped doing the New Year’s resolution thing several years ago. Instead, I like to take a look at everything that I have done in the year past and celebrate the year that it has been. I think it is more motivating this way; if, at the end of a year, I can be proud of my accomplishments, it makes it a much more productive year than if I state half-baked goals at the beginning of the year and then don’t complete them. 2014 brought a lot of interesting changes to my life:

  • I got the live workshop portion of Project: Preschool up and running, only to put it on hold after I changed jobs.
  • I graduated last May. No more school for a while.
  • I started writing a book about classroom management.
  • I ditched my high-stress, low-autonomy teaching job for a low-stress, high-autonomy teaching job.
  • I tried (and failed) and tried to start blogging more regularly.
  • I bought a bicycle so that I could enjoy the great outdoors more. And then I promptly didn’t use it.
  • I continued doing the yoga that I started when I was completely stressed out last December. I don’t know how I lived without it before, and I surely don’t want to live without it any more. I can tell when I don’t do my yoga. From what I hear, everyone else can tell, too. But I’m stronger than I was a year ago and more flexible, too. And much less stressed.
  • I started doing some meditation. It is amazing how much meditation has helped me as far as focus and slowing down. I haven’t really been that consistent with it, but it is amazing when I do put forth the effort to include it in my routine. And the more I do it, the more amazing it is.

As far as I’m concerned, 2014 was an amazing year. It definitely had its ups and downs, but overall it was great. I’m going to carry that greatness into 2015. I have a lot of things that I want to do with 2015, like

  • Start offering online workshops for Early Childhood Educators
  • Finish my book. Or at least make a lot of progress on it.
  • Do some research about play. I’ve already started this one.
  • Take up photography. I’m planning on getting myself a camera for my birthday.
  • Continue my yoga. I can tell how much stronger I am now than I was at the beginning of the year. There’s no telling what I will be able to do at the end of 2015.
  • Be more consistent with my meditation. I use a timer app for my meditation practice. It tracks how much meditation I do based on when I use the timer (and I use the timer every time I meditate). This morning I looked and it said that I had meditated 36 times since I started using the app, which was last December. There are 365 days in a year. That’s just pathetic. Especially with all of the insights and progress I have made with meditation lately.

Will I do all of these things? I don’t know. I’m not sure if the online workshops are going to happen. That used to be higher on my priority list, but now writing the book has taken over that spot. I am learning a lot from the research I am doing for this book, and that alone is motivating me a lot to try to work on it more throughout this year. Plus, I try a lot of new things in my classroom based on the research that I do, so you will probably be seeing a lot of that this year. I haven’t done quite to much research or experimenting since before I was in school. That alone should make 2015 a year to remember!

 

Leave a Reply

