Turning a Corner

So much has happened since I last sat down to write. I know it has been less than a year, because I attempted to move my blog to another site, but that didn’t last long. That site is about to come down, and I have pretty much dismantled the business. It isn’t a bad thing, though. The business was losing money hand over fist, and the stress of keeping it up finally got to be too much. Plus, I’ve had multiple conversations with people who are doing what I want to do, and their words are always the same: you need to go back to school. I’ve always fought against going to school, arguing that it is a simple piece of paper, but the truth of the matter is that in order for me to go into any type of research position or teaching at the level that I want to, I do have to go back to school. There really isn’t any question about it. So I started back to school last semester, but this semester has me really excited. I’ve been trying to figure out why, because I’ve never been excited about school. I mean, I like school, but I haven’t been thrilled about it. But this is the first time I’ve been in school where I didn’t feel like I was just doing it to get the piece of paper. It’s the first time I don’t have side-studying going on that I have to stop doing because I don’t have time. It’s the first time that school feels like the path to get to a specific goal, and anyone who knows me knows that I am going to work my darnedest to get to any goal that I set for myself. I’m excited about it, and I can’t wait to see where it takes me.

Leave a Reply

